The WHO Panics Meat Eaters

The World Health Organization aka WHO announced the results of a study that links eating processed/unprocessed meat to increasing the risk of cancer. Well to be exact the findings concerning unprocessed meat was not as definitive.

Well THANK YOU WHO, you fuckers just filled my Facebook and Instagram timelines with a bunch of vegans and their elitist eating habits!

No disrespect to my vegan friends, but ENOUGH already. It’s not a shocker that a heavy diet of red meat is not good for you, but at the same time it does not mean I have to make the leap to being a vegan either. I am thankful for ALL of my vegan friends for their willingness to discuss their vegan ways. It has honestly made me take a look at my meat-eating ways (pause if applicable), and I have worked to improve my diet but like anything else in life it’s about moderation.

Researchers found evidence that eating a 50-gram portion of processed meat daily (about one hot dog) can increase a person’s risk of colorectal cancer by 18 percent.Vox

Now if the WHO was telling me that eating a 50-gram portion of processed meat daily would increase a person’s risk of cancer by 60-70%, then ok I probably would be concerned.

If we are not supposed to fat shame, slut shame, etc… Then don’t meat shame me!!!!

So can we all calm down? Meat eaters are not going anywhere, and bacon will be on my plate some time this week.

 

As always….

If there is something to be said, “It’s On Broadway” to step up and say it!!

Author: Bobby Broadway

Born and raised in the Borough of Queens; with the backdrop of Manhattan only a stones throw away. I'm a college educated man with Independent thought, who is not afraid of an debate. It's very simple, you respect me and I will respect you...

4 thoughts on “The WHO Panics Meat Eaters”

  1. It’s not a shaming. There are others involved that get no benefit from meat eaters just ‘scaling back.’ To them, it’s not a little chance of cancer, it’s death. Vegans are simply stepping up for the billions who have no voice. Be thankful cows, pigs and chickens don’t Facebook.

    Not eating others is easy to do, and it is the baseline for much, much more. I do hope you’ll reconsider!

    1. Shannon, I appreciate you taking the time to read my blog post.

      I think it’s safe to say that we are going to agree to disagree on animals being food, and I respect that. One question, what are your thoughts on animals eating other animals?

      Thanks!

      1. Simple. That is nature.

        What we do is NOT nature. It’s ‘using.’ To kill an animal in the wild with (non-gun) tools, wits against wits, no pre-training an animal to come to a feeding spot before-hand, waiting, waiting, stalking…THAT’S nature.

        We have turned animals into widgets. If we did what we do to food animals to our pets or other humans, it would be against the law.

        Eating animals in this day and age is entirely unnecessary. One day, we may get back to hunter-gatherer, but today, vegan fixes many ills, animal torture notwithstanding.

        The reason you are probably eating animals is because of taste. Taste is pleasure (in the brain). Is killing for pleasure necessary?

Leave a Reply

