@CarmeloAnthony Calls for Peace in Baltimore #BaltimoreRiots

Watching the images of Black people so upset and frustrated with the current state of Baltimore destroy their community was beyond depressing.

I feel for everyone in Baltimore, from those who feel like rioting is their only course of action and to those who are frustrated watching their city in utter turmoil.

For the past 24-hours there has been a lot of talk about protesting vs. rioting and destroying your neighborhood. Carmelo Anthony, a native of Baltimore posted the following on his Instagram account:

Melo1

melo

I agree with Melo, and I wish there was no rioting, but at the same time I can’t sit here from my relatively calm environment and judge those who are rioting. Not to say that I condone the violence, not at all, but I also realize there are angry protestors, there are angry rioters, and then there are the misguided who are angry and have no idea what to do with their anger.

Those who are rioting and those like Melo calling for peace are both right in my opinion. There is room for both sentiments and in the long run we will need to come together to rebuild and come together to push for real change that will last.

And for those on Facebook that have been posting statuses and pics talking about Martin Luther King Jr and how he was for peaceful protest. While this is true, it is also true that MLK Jr also had thoughts on those who riot….

It is not enough for me to stand before you tonight and condemn riots. It would be morally irresponsible for me to do that without, at the same time, condemning the contingent, intolerable conditions that exist in our society. These conditions are the things that cause individuals to feel that they have no other alternative than to engage in violent rebellions to get attention. And I must say tonight that a riot is the language of the unheard.

 

As always….

If there is something to be said, “It’s On Broadway” to step up and say it!!

Photo Credit: Huffington Post

Author: Bobby Broadway

Born and raised in the Borough of Queens; with the backdrop of Manhattan only a stones throw away. I'm a college educated man with Independent thought, who is not afraid of an debate. It's very simple, you respect me and I will respect you...

Leave a Reply

